“The Power of Now”- title taken from Eckhart Tolle

I will not save my best moments for times not promised.

Instead, feather me; sequin me in the brilliance of the present.

Give me my technicolor fantasies off screen and in reality.

Give me my present in the bosom of an unpredictable earth, in the arms of an unconquerable nature.

Give it to me on the edge of instinct, at the intersection of freedom and desire;

 

This is my version of time immemorial.

 

It is my ancestors’ work summed up into now,

made to flourish in my temporary custody,

built infinitely fragile and equally resilient.

 

I dare not sell it off to defeat, rent it to sorrow, or sublet it to fleeting insecurities.

 

Instead, I will let my passion leak out onto the surface of the earth.

Let it actively water the soil in which my ancestors lie beneath.

I will not waste it,

like a careless running faucet,

Or be afraid to use it,

like a sheepish, latent talent.

I will just be present for this present,

Because now is the only thing I truly own,

and the single most important gift willed to me by the universe. 

Copyright © 2012 Nichelle Calhoun

2 thoughts on ““The Power of Now”- title taken from Eckhart Tolle

Leave a Reply

