Reminders

 I don’t discuss those days

When there was still ample room inside you for me

            And, I covered in bright naïve insecurity with

My Body firmly planted in the seat of your heart

                        Was Happy to be owned by you.

 

            Remember

 

I don’t discuss those days

            When even my threats to leave

Reeked

            and the flies knew just what they were    

                        Shallow bouts of wishful thinking.

 

            Remember

 

I don’t discuss those days

That I wrote you invisibly onto

            Every part of me,

            Onto the present and onto the future,

            And all that existed

because to me

                     it was all related to you.

           

            Remember

 

I don’t discuss those days

            Because then I am reminded of just how much

I still don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

