Cosmetic Procedure

Today went

and cut off the

overgrowth

that occurred

when I was

so emotionally

little

scarcely anyone recognized

my hurt.

 

I remember the day

it came.

I was 28 years old

and round

with our former

lives.

It was all the stuff of love in me.

 

I had bought an Indian printed

dress and

heavy vintage black and silver earrings.

I put them in my ears as I walked out

to be with blood and water

and my fluffy pink cake.

 

It was all the stuff of love in me.

Love down to the cell.

 

The world was pink, clear, light.

I remember that day.

but I was gray

and heavy.

My precious earrings,

First hurt then-

I wouldn’t take them off.

Beauty kept my sadness

Ok.

 

But the hurt grew into granules,

fibrous granules, I hid behind

earrings,

 hair,

 cheekbones.

My physical hurt so little

scarcely

anyone recognized it.

 

Fibrous wires grew into circles

balled tightly

above a hole

tucked into the corner

behind my lobe

and then eventually through the lobe.

Blood, discomfort, shame.

I thought of you.

 

I was all the stuff of in broken-love 

And my body seemed to know it

Down to a fibrous level.

 

But today I went

And cut off the overgrowth.

My overgrowth 

gone awry

My protection

of the original wound.

Today I went

and cut off the overgrowth

because

it was long,

long overdue.

 

Copyright@Nichelle Calhoun 2013

Leave a Reply

