Did You?

Under baobab tree,

Did you come for me

Looking to love me into eternity

To venerate me like ancestors

All my words and curves

Love me like forever were equivalent words

Under the cover of a solid blue night

Did you bring me into the still- your human love light

Did you take me under the uncertainty of your wing

And pray my love be the anchor of everything

Or did you come for me

In dressed-up defeat

And hope I’d be a distraction so sweet

Reduced to curve without words to write

Invisible by day and ever present at night

Did you come for me to meet with fate

Or did you force its hand

Your appreciation for love

still in wait….

 

Did you…

 

Copyright@Nichelle Calhoun 2014

 

4 thoughts on “Did You?

  1. Hi Nichelle,

    Anyone would follow in love with you, after a poem so sweet.

    I called this morning, I miss you and wanted to see how you are doing. I would be nice to hear from you.

    Keep writing, and still waiting on the book 😉

    Irene Kravitz

    Event Coordinator

    M: 787-685-3266

    E: irene@blueplanetsports.net

Leave a Reply

