Coup d’etat

a coup d’etat,

unseated,

dethroned, alone,

in this wilderness

of a nothingness

well-known.

 

Smelling stale,

oh’  fresh betrayal,

you defeat me,

with my own love.

You usurped my tears,

acted out my fears,

and replaced us with

a vandalized love.

 

Oh deceitful offender,

each cell I surrendered,

while you whittled me down

flaw for flaw.

of it I tended

with hope my heart be mended

until this final coup d’etat.

 

Copyright@Nichelle Calhoun 2014

 

 

One thought on “Coup d’etat

  1. A unique look at love and war. In life and battle there are winners and losers, but sometimes those who feel they’ve lost are the true winners.

Leave a Reply

