Indigeneity

Because this is just one of my all-time favorite poems. Even now. An oldie but goodie.

New World Nubian

Be transient with me,  

Son of St. Vincent and indigenous seed,

A hybrid blackness springing from the salt of the sea,

You belonged to the earth,

But now to me,

I’ll tell you Old World myths,

You tell me about

Indigeneity.

 

Fasten me with pre-Colombian hands,

 To shipwreck stories,

About America’s lands,

Recount resistance,

On Roatan’s sand,

Debunk mestizaje,

And its backwards strands.

I’ll appreciate your black subjectivity,

But in your hands,

You can reduce me to my exoticity.

Cuz I know you get the fullness of me

and I get the totality of you

my maroon son of the Caribbean sea.

Copyright © 2012 Nichelle Calhoun

View original post

Leave a Reply

